Super Shiny Brand New Book News!

rg3 WELL!  I’ve got some book news I’ve been sitting on that’s making me all squirmy with excitement, so let’s get down to sharing it!

As you might know, I’ve had my third book with Roaring Brook Press/Macmillan in the works for a while now.  It’s due to be published on September 20, 2016 – only I’m struggling with finding a just-right title!  It’s about two teenagers named Caroline and Ethan, and it’s told in alternating points of view.  Sort of like my first book, The Truth About Alice.

Caroline and Ethan are linked by a tragic crime – a kidnapping – and this book is all about healing from trauma and finding a soul-saving friendship in the most unlikely of places.  I did a ton of research on trauma bonds and spoke to a lot of amazing mental health professionals and brave survivors of abuse as a part of my writing process, and I’m really proud of this one.  I can’t wait to get it in your hands.  And I really can’t wait to announce a title once I have it figured out!

But now comes my super shiny brand new news.  I’ve sold two (yes, two!) more books to my wonderful editor Kate Jacobs at Roaring Brook Press.

The first book in the deal, tentatively titled Moxie, is basically the book of my dreams, y’all. rg2

It’s about a 16-year-old girl named Vivian Carter who lives in a small Texas town.  (If you’ve read my books, you know small Texas towns are kind of my thing.)  Anyway, Vivian finds inspiration in her mom’s stories about the 90s Riot Grrrl movement, and she decides to create a zine called Moxie.  Vivian distributes Moxie anonymously in an effort to combat the sexism in her high school and ends up creating a modern day teen feminist revolution in her town!

AND PEOPLE, I AM MAKING ACTUAL MOXIE ZINES TO GO INSIDE THE BOOK.

Those of you who’ve known me since I was twentysomething know I actually made my own zine way back when that was titled Jennifer.  (Wow, I really do have a problem coming up with good titles.  By the way, old copies of Jennifer are housed at the Barnard zine library – something that makes me really happy.)  But anyway, my zine-making past makes the zine aspect of the Moxie project really super cool and exciting for me.

Moxie combines so much stuff I love and adore – punk rock, lady rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and an interesting, fully-fleshed out female protagonist.  It’s honestly my fantasy project.  Moxie is set to come out in the fall of 2017.  I’m not totally sure what the second book in this two-book deal will be about, but I promise you I already have some ideas brewing in my head.

rg1I can’t thank you enough for supporting my first two books, The Truth About Alice and Devoted, and I hope you’re intrigued enough to check out these new stories of mine.

Much gratitude to my amazing agent Kerry Sparks of Levine Greenberg Rostan for coming along just when I needed her.  She is the Kathleen Hanna of literary agents – and I can think of no bigger compliment to pay someone.

See you on the shelves!

One thought on “Super Shiny Brand New Book News!

Leave a Reply

