So much ALICE love…

My debut novel!  Eep!  Still can't believe it's real.

My debut novel! Eep! Still can’t believe it’s real.

It’s been forever since I’ve updated my blog, so I wanted to add two quick updates today – one about my debut, The Truth About Alice, and one about my upcoming release, Devoted, out June 2, 2015 and also from Roaring Brook Press.

It’s been a groovy, crazy, wonderful ride since The Truth About Alice was released June 3 of this year.  I got to go on tour with the amazing Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha trilogy), Ava Dellaira (Love Letters to the Dead), and Emmy Laybourne (Monument 14 series).  In cities all over, I met readers and bloggers and future writers – not a lot of sleep but so much fun!

Here I am with Ava, Emmy, and Leigh posing outside the amazing Red Balloon Bookshop in St. Paul, MN!

Here I am with Ava, Emmy, and Leigh posing outside the amazing Red Balloon Bookshop in St. Paul, MN!

The Truth About Alice has received such a warm response from readers and the trades.  It’s been chosen as a Fall 2014 selection for the Junior Library Guild and received a starred review from VOYA (“Fans of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson and Speechless by Hannah Harrington will welcome first time author Mathieu, who has crafted a realistic and hard-hitting debut.”)  Wow, thanks, VOYA!  🙂

And just today I found out I’ve been nominated for a Best Debut Goodreads Author award!  (You can vote here if you’re so inclined.)

But the best part of this childhood dream come true is meeting with teen readers and hearing from them on social media, too.  I think my favorite moment was getting a E-mail from a 17-year-old girl who wrote me in the middle of the night to tell me she stayed up late to finish the book.  I kinda still can’t believe my words are in the hands of people other than my agent, editor, and husband.

Thanks to everyone for your ongoing support, and I promise I’ll try to post more regularly! xoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

